Editing and Sharing a Google Earth Project

Once you’ve started a Google Earth Project, any part of it can be updated or edited at any time. And you can have multiple collaborators sharing the creative work.

In this tutorial, I’ll show you how to edit your projects, collaborate on them with your colleagues or students, and share the final version with anyone for viewing.

Editing

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 10 40 33 AM

Wherever you see the pencil icon, it means that feature can be edited. In the example above, the top pencil will allow you to edit the title and description for this tour. The one next to Fort Kearny at the bottom will open that location for editing.

The double bars at the left of the location title allows you to click and drag it to a new place in the tour. They eyeball icon will make this feature invisible to anyone viewing this tour. Clicking the trash can icon at the right, of course, will delete the location.

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 10 49 57 AM

When you click the pencil icon for a feature, it opens in the original create panel. You can now change any aspect of this feature, including the view in the main window. Just drag the camera and click the Capture this view button at the bottom of the viewer window.

Sharing

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 10 53 11 AM

When you want to share a project with others, whether for collaborative editing or just viewing, leave editing mode and click the person plus icon at the top of the project management column.

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 10 55 51 AM

The process is similar to sharing any document in your Google Drive. Enter the email address of the person you want to share with with. If the person is in your address book or if you have a group prepared, you can also start typing the name and Google will find them.

screen shot from Google earth

You can allow each person or group you add to be an editor on this project or just view it. Click the Notify box and enter a message to send them an email to let them know they are now collaborators, with a link directly to the project. Don’t forget to click Send.

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 11 01 23 AM

Click the gear icon at the top right for more sharing options. Although these options are turned on by default, you may not what other collaborators to change the sharing permissions. You also may not want others to be able to download the project.

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 11 02 24 AM

When you’re ready for people to take your tour, click Change to anyone with the link at the bottom of the share window. You can also allow anyone with the link to be an editor on this project, although I don’t recommend that option.

Screen Shot 2020 12 04 at 11 03 07 AM

Finally, you can also restrict viewing this project to only those you’ve added to your sharing list. This would prevent someone sharing a link to the project directly with others outside of the group you’ve authorized.